Aberg ends tech career; Gets a full PGA TOUR card


Scottsdale, Ariz. – Monday ran a collection of emotions for the elderly Ludwig Aberg.

At first it was disappointing, as Aberg and the Red Raiders bowed out of the 2023 NCAA championships, falling in the playoffs to Ohio State.

Then it was emotional.

Donning a 3D red and black “double tee” and a traditional red Texas Tech polo under the Amor Cap, Aberg made the final run to become the Fearless Champion.

As he teed off on the ninth and final hole of his Tech career, Aberg had one simple thought: “This is the last fairway” — the final showdown in a stellar Red Raider career that included eight wins (a program record), the most wins in three straight seasons. (program record), back-to-back Ben Hogan Awards (second in award history), back-to-back individual medalists in Big 12 Conference championships (only player in conference history) and a regional Indy title at Norman.

Resume for Eslov, Sweden native.

Aberg started to go left when he hit the penultimate putt 15 under the green. It looks good when the ball rolls into the hole. Five seconds later, it fell through the cup on the right.

The shot moved Aberg up from +5 to four for the championship. But then the blows were not worth it.

The result, however, served as Aberg’s last birdie before earning his PGA Tour card and heading to the top of the professional golf world.

Aberg was emotional as he made it to round nine.

The senior hit a nice drive on the ninth tee. Then he found the green waiting for another challenging putt.

Aberg turned in two, capping the single most decorated single season and career in Texas Tech golf history.

First came an interview with NBCs Golf Channel. Next it was time to sign the card.

Fast forward 20 minutes, and Aberg was “FaceTiming” with his new boss, PGA Tour Commissioner Jay Monahan.
All in all, it was a good day for the former top ranked amateur golfer in the world.

And he’s not done yet.

Tomorrow, the final two finalists for college golf’s “Player of the Year” awards will be announced: Fred Haskins and Jack Nicklaus. Aberg, as a finalist, is the favorite to become just the fifth player in college golf to win the major three awards (Ben Hogan, Haskins and Nicklaus).

Next week will be important for Aberg as he will officially make his PGA Tour debut at the RBC Canadian Open at Oakdale Golf Club.

But in the meantime, it’s time to close out his college career with two more awards.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *