Aberg is a finalist for the Jack Nicholas Award

Norman, Okla The accolades keep coming for the nation’s top golfer, who was named the 2023 Ben Hogan Award recipient Monday night in Fort Worth. Ludwig Aberg He was named one of five finalists for the 2023 Jack Nicklaus Award, sponsored by Workday.

Named after golf legend Jack Nicklaus, the Nicklaus Award serves as the Player of the Year award in college golf and is awarded to the top golfer at the Division I, Division II, Division III, NAIA and NJCAA levels.

Aberg is joined on this year’s list of finalists by Illinois’ Adrian Dumont de Chassart, Virginia’s Ben James, Vanderbilt’s Gordon Sargent and Stanford’s Michael Torjornsen.

The winner of the 2023 Nicklaus Award will be announced at the “Golden Bear” press conference Tuesday afternoon (May 30) before the PGA Tour’s Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Ohio.

With the election on Thursday, Aberg has now been named a finalist for all three of golf’s major awards: the Ben Hogan, Fred Haskins and Jack Nicklaus awards.

The Swedish native is having one of the most decorated seasons in recent memory. Aberg, who has won four of his last six events, is the only Division I men’s golfer to win both the conference and state titles.

In winning the Big 12 Championship for the second straight season, Aberg became the first player in conference history to win individual medalist honors in back-to-back seasons.

It’s been a big week for Aberg, who became the second player in the 30-year history of the Ben Hogan Award to repeat as 2023 Masters champion and former OWGR No. 1 John Rahm.

Aberg and the Red Raiders descend on the Scottsdale desert to close out the season at the NCAA Championships hosted by both Grayhawk Golf Club and Arizona State University. In search of its first national championship in program history, No. 5 Tech finished Friday’s opener at 1:52 p.m. (CT).

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *