Ivy Tech Community College honors local man as top dual-credit faculty member – Muncie Journal


By Leslie DeVos—

MUNCIE, Ind. – Ivy Tech Community College honored New Castle High School’s John Thompson as one of 19 individuals for Ivy Tech’s second annual Excellence in Dual Credit Education President’s Awards. The winners were announced at a special ceremony in Indianapolis on June 14, and the event concluded with the 2023 statewide award recipient, Dr. Christine Herr of Ivy Tech Richmond.

The college honored each of them for their excellence in teaching during the 2022-2023 academic year and for their positive impact on the dual credit students they served. A selection committee made up of members of the college administration selected the awardees based on nominations from students and high school administrators.

“Dual credit faculty provide students with the skills, knowledge and competencies aligned with clear career paths and seamless college transitions,” said Ivy Tech President Sue Illspeman. “Dual credit programming is of great value to our students and our state’s high school teachers. We accelerate Indiana’s economic growth and Hoosier prosperity by helping students earn high school credentials.

A student, Alaina Bowman, nominated Thompson for this prestigious award. I don’t think any other teacher I’ve ever met has impacted so many students as Mr. Thompson has. I have never been more engrossed in a lesson. It is clear to see that Mr. Thompson truly cares about his students and wants them to succeed at all times. Mr. Thompson influences every student with his positive attitude and never-ending optimism. He touched the heart of every dual credit chemistry student,” said Bowman.

Executive Director of K-14 Initiatives, Rebecca Ireland, said, “We are honored to have Mr. Thompson represent the Muncie-Henry County campus. As he writes songs about chemistry and works on his guitar, he maintains the integrity of Ivy Tech’s material while engaging students with enthusiasm, creativity, humor, and even music. The community of New Castle is fortunate to have someone who cares so much about its young people.”

“Our joint credit faculty ensure our students get the best value for their education and combine that with innovative approaches to ensure post-secondary credentials,” said Interim Vice President for K-14 and Strategic Initiatives. “This award recognizes educators who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and exemplifies the mission of Ivy Tech,” said Monica Hingst.

The President’s Award for Excellence in Dual Credit Education is modeled after the College’s President’s Award to recognize the College’s faculty and support faculty from Ivy Tech locations across the state.

A complete list of statewide honorees is included below.

Anderson: Leah Perry, Science, Mount Vernon High School

Bloomington Elbert “Buddy” Hart, Design, Lost River Professional Co

Columbus: Robin Perry, Business, Seymour High School

Evansville: Glen Goffinett, Automotive and Advanced Manufacturing, Tel City Junior/Senior High School

Fort Wayne/Warsaw: Ashley Johnson, Entrepreneurship, DeKalb High School

Hamilton County: Kim Kaiser, Business and Marketing, Hamilton Heights High School

Indianapolis: Renee Walker, Health Sciences, Pike Career and STEM Center

Kokomo: Amy Lancaster, English, Peru High School

Lafayette: Melissa Colonis, Mathematics, Lafayette-Jefferson High School

Lake County Dawn Combis, Entrepreneurship, Lake Central High School

Lawrenceburg/Batesville: Colleen Tincher, foreign language, Spanish, Franklin County High School

Madison: emeka Koren, Science, Madison Consolidated High School

Marion: Michelle Harrold, Mathematics, Madison Grant High School

Muncie/Henry County: John Thompson, Chemistry, New Castle High School

Richmond: Dr. Christine Herr, Chemistry and Agriculture, Hagerstown High School

Sellersburg: Michael Day, Mathematics, Silver Creek High School

South Bend/Elkhart: Dee Dee Gerber, English, Mishawaka High School

high ground Samantha Woodard, English, Parke Heritage High School

Valparaiso: Lacy Earle, Business, Washington Township High School

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest single-accredited statewide community college system accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and serves thousands of students online each year. It serves as the state’s workforce development engine, offering associate degrees, short-term certificate programs, industry certifications, and training tailored to the needs of the community. The college offers seamless transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana as well as out-of-state for a more affordable path to a bachelor’s degree. Follow Ivy Tech on Facebook, Twitter, InstagramAnd LinkedIn For the most up-to-date information.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *