Morgan Named to ACC All-Freshman Team – Women’s Basketball – Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets

GREENSBORO, NC – Georgia Tech’s freshman guard Tony Morgan She was recognized for her outstanding season on Tuesday, being named to the ACC All-Freshman Team by the Atlantic Coast Conference.

The team’s second-leading scorer with an average of 9.5 points per game, Morgan led the Yellow Jackets with a 110-point season. A two-time ACC Rookie of the Week, Morgan recorded a team-high four double-doubles with two points and an assist. She had a career-high 12 assists against Clemson (Jan. 26) and is one of four players to record a game with 12-plus assists.

In the ACC, Morgan is one of four freshmen to own a double-double this season and one of only three to own multiples. She also ranks second on the team with 5.6 rebounds per game. Morgan has led the Jackets on the glass 11 times, while also posting 15 games in double figures and 10 games with five or more assists.

On the eve of the ACC tournament, the conference office announced all postseason honors for ACC Player of the Year, Elizabeth Keatley (Virginia Tech) and Rookie of the Year, Tanya Latson from Florida State.

Morgan is joined on the five-member all-freshman team by Latson (Florida State), Tyna Mayer (Boston College), Ruby Whitehorn (Clemson) and Keke Bransford (Notre Dame).

The Yellow Jackets open the 2023 Ally ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament on Wednesday, March 1 in the first round against Boston College. Tip-off is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. on the ACC Network at the Greensboro Coliseum.

2022-23 ACC Postseason Awards
Player of the year:
Elizabeth Keatley, Sr., C, Virginia Tech
Player of the Year: Celeste Taylor, Sr., G, Duke
Rookie of the Year: Tanya Latson, G, Florida State
The best coach of the year: Neil Evie, Notre Dame
Sixth Player of the Year: Sania Rivers, So., G, NC State
Most Improved Player: Makayla Timpson, So., F, Florida State

All-ACC first team
Elizabeth Keatley, Sr., C, Virginia Tech
Olivia Miles, So., G, Notre Dame
Ta’Niya Latson, Fr., G, Florida State
Hailey Van Lees, jr., G, Louisville
Georgia Amoore, Jr., G, Virginia Tech
Dyaisha Fair, Sr., G, Syracuse
Deja Kelly, Jr., G, North Carolina
Celeste Taylor, Sr., G, Duke
Sonia Citron, So., G, Notre Dame
Alyssa Ustby, Jr., G, North Carolina

All-ACC second team
Makayla Timpson, So., F, Florida State
Jewel Spear, Jr., G, Wake Forest
Diamond Johnson, So., G, NC State
Haley Cavinder, Sr., G, Miami
Destiny Harden, G., F, Miami
Amari Robinson, sr., F, Clemson
Camryn Taylor, Jr., G, Virginia
Maddie Westbeld, jr., F, Notre Dame
Kennedy Todd-Williams, Jr., G, North Carolina
Taylor Soule, G., F, Virginia Tech

All-defensive team
Celeste Taylor, Sr., G, Duke
Micasa Robinson, G.G., Louisville
Elizabeth Keatley, Sr., C, Virginia Tech
Makayla Timpson, So., F, Florida State
Dyaisha Fair, Sr., G, Syracuse

All-Freshman Team
Tanya Latson, G, Florida State
Taina Mair, G, Boston College
Tony Morgan, G. , Georgia Tech
Ruby Whitehorn, G, Clemson
KK Bransford, G, Notre Dame

Alexander-Tharpe Fund

The Alexander-Tharpe Fund is the fundraising arm of Georgia Tech athletics and provides scholarships, operations and facilities for Georgia Tech’s 400-plus student-athletes. Be a part of developing Georgia Tech champions every day and helping the Yellow Jackets compete for major college athletic championships. Annual Athletic Scholarship FundScholarships awarded directly to Georgia Tech student-athletes. To learn more about supporting the Yellow Jackets, visit

For the latest on the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, follow us on Twitter (@GTWBB), Instagram (GTWBB), Facebook (Georgia Tech women’s basketball) or visit us at

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *