Names in the News: People Shaping the Future of Lake Area Business – US Press

Names in the News: People Shaping the Future of Lake Area Business

Published on Sunday, May 14, 2023 at 1:32 pm

Two banks have joined board of directors

Banking veteran James McGough and entrepreneur Samuel R. Williams He became a member of the Board of Directors of the Merchants and Farmers Bank.

A resident of Lake Charles, McGough spent nearly 45 years with banks in the Calcasieu and Rapides Parish area — including service as market president with two banks and various positions in wholesale and retail banking. He also served as an advisory board director at Calcasieu Area Bank.

His public service work includes serving on the Board of Directors and volunteering with United Way of Southwest Louisiana, Calcasieu Council on Aging, Crimestoppers, Inc., Imperial Calcasieu Museum, Calcasieu Medical Society Foundation, Lake Charles Symphony, Calcasieu Community Clinic, Boys & Girls Clubs, Boy Scouts. Calcasieu Area Council, American Heart Association and Episcopal Day School.

His civic involvement includes Southwest Louisiana Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Southwest Chamber of Commerce, Crimestoppers, Inc., Sasol Community Advisory Panel, Vision 2000 Calcasieu Calcasieu Task Force, Calcasieu Parish Police Judges and Young Men’s Business Club.

McGough holds a BS in Commercial Banking from Louisiana State University.

Williams, a resident of Benton, owns Bram Management, a Bossier City real estate company that buys, renovates and owns income-producing properties. Williams is also a licensed real estate agent with Berkshire Hathaway Home Services – Alley Real Estate in Bossier City and general maintenance and construction manager. A self storage, advertising, rental and farm company located in Leesville.

Williams’ previous experience includes sales and technical support positions with AT&T Mobility and US Support Company, as well as a role-playing employee with Cubic Defense Applications in Fort Polk and as a cashier with Merchants and Farmers Bank in Leesville.

He holds an MBA from Balor University and a BS in Business Management and Administration from Louisiana State University, Shreveport.

Burriac named for caucus leadership

BATON ROUGE – state Rep. Ryan BorriaqueA Calcasieu and Cameron County representative has been appointed to the 2023 Louisiana Legislative Rural Caucus Executive Committee.

With 72 members, it is the largest of the legislative caucuses and includes members of the Senate and House of Representatives from the state.

Burriac was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2019. He serves as Vice Chair of the House Committees on Natural Resources and Environment. Agriculture, Forestry, Aquaculture and Rural Development; ways and means; Trade as a temporary member; Executive Committee of the Council; Joint Legislative Committee on Capital Expenditures; House Select Committee on Disaster Recovery; and the HouseSelect Steering Committee.

Verrette were elected as the bank board

Shively VerretteExecutive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer of Lakeside Bank, Louisiana Bankers Association has been elected to the 2023-2024 Board of Directors.

Originally from Lake Charles, Verrett earned a Bachelor of Science in Accounting from McNeese State University. She has been with Lakeside since 2011 and has over 21 years of experience in the finance and banking industry. She provides leadership on the bank’s financial planning, budgeting and accounting practices.

He is another LBA director who will continue to serve for the next year. Samuel V. Wilkinson First Federal Bank of Louisiana in Lake Charles, representing the southwest region.

Firm Veron Bice welcomes Sonnier.

Veron is pleased to welcome Bis lawyer. Shayna Sonnier.

Saunier, a native of Louisiana, earned her Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and her Juris Doctorate from Southern Methodist University’s Dedman School of Law.

Since 2005, her focus has been general litigation, family law, estate planning and succession. She is licensed to practice law in both Louisiana and Texas.

Sonnier is a recognized leader of the state bar. As a result of her many contributions, she has been elected president of the Louisiana State Bar Association and will be held in Destin, Fla. this coming June.

Celestine was named the board of the state

Baton Rouge – Anthony W. Celestine Lake Charles has been Appointed by Gov. John Bel Edwards to the Board of Directors for the Special School District.

The board is responsible for the administration of the district – which includes electing the superintendent, adopting rules, regulations and policies, and ordering textbooks and materials for students.

The Special School District provides educational services to students with disabilities from across the state. The district consists of two residential schools, the Louisiana School for the Deaf and the Louisiana School for the Blind in Baton Rouge, as well as special school programs located in correctional, mental and behavioral health facilities in Louisiana.

Celestine is the director of Calcasieu Juvenile Justice Services. Represents students receiving special education services in facilities administered by the Office of Juvenile Justice.

Laughlin was again appointed to the government board

Baton Rouge – Stephen R. Laughlin Lake Charles was reappointed by Governor John Bel Edwards to the Louisiana State Building Code Council.

The council’s primary duties are to review and adopt the state’s uniform building code, provide training and education to code officials, and receive requests for revisions to the code, except for the Louisiana State Plumbing Code. Laughlin is a property adjuster with State Farm in Lake Charles.

APG announced the board members

The Alliance for Positive Growth has announced the appointment of its new 2023 officers and board of directors.

is the president Ryan Hess with CSE Federal Credit Union; vice president, Jeff Kudla with Kudla Architecture; writer, Krystle blue with the SWLA Home Builders Association; Treasurer and Ex-officio, Trey Hayes with First Federal Bank of Louisiana; Officers Bart Yakupzak with Jack Lawton Companies; Joseph Banks with Liberty Plaza Properties; Tommy Eastman with Flavin Realty; and board members Louie Beard, IV with Charvais company; And Hardtner Hlumpp With a group of investors.

Returning board members include Michael Hankins with Hankins Development; Ralph Living With Living Construction; Kevin Melton with Chennault International Airport; Dr. John Noble With Noble Development; Dean Roberts Stream Wetland Services; Marshall Simin with Simeen Law Firm; And Tanis Sewell with Flavin Realty

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *